As I write this I literally have a script ( https://github.com/j0be/PowerDeleteSuite ) running deleting all posts and comments I made so I can delete my accounts and leave them with nothing. The last couple of days they have been prompting people to provide identification documents to access their accounts. This is going to start becoming more prevalent on platforms. I always hated the site but that’s crossed the line for me. So purpose of this post is just to give people a heads up while they still have access if they want to remove their data and / or delete the peice of shit from their life once and for all.

  • anewfox@lemmy.zip
    link
    fedilink
    arrow-up
    26
    arrow-down
    1
    ·
    edit-2
    2 days ago

    you should all know that reddit can, and has, restored comments that have been “shredded” by tools like this so they can be used to train AI. they can obviously restore deleted content as well, because it’s never deleted, just marked as deleted in the database.

      • dil@piefed.zip
        link
        fedilink
        English
        arrow-up
        2
        ·
        2 days ago

        At the very least deleting a comment only removes your name and doesn’t delete the comment/post. At least on my permabanned account.

        • moldy_rice@piefed.keyboardvagabond.com
          link
          fedilink
          English
          arrow-up
          5
          ·
          edit-2
          2 days ago

          You should email their data privacy officer and request them to delete it under the laws of GDPR.

          Document it before and after and every correspondence.

          If your data isn’t gone in 6 months, publish everything you’ve documented in a blog post. Post it here to Lemmy and email the government.

          They’ll get fined millions or over a billion Euros. The EU doesn’t fuck around with these violations.

        • dil@piefed.zip
          link
          fedilink
          English
          arrow-up
          1
          ·
          2 days ago

          Your name shows up as deleted and the post stays up if you try to delete a post not account.